JJC Time-lapse Controller

Reviews and other little ventures that don't quite fit into the other forums
Daniel Wee
Site Admin
Posts: 2052
Joined: Wed 25 Feb 25 2009 8:00 pm

JJC Time-lapse Controller

Postby Daniel Wee » Wed 10 Feb 10 2010 1:47 pm

The shipment from Hong Kong finally arrived today - just under 2-weeks delivery time. The package was small and the box was slightly crushed but the contents look okay.
JJC Timer Remote 001a.JPG
JJC Timer Remote 001a.JPG (82.65 KiB) Viewed 4167 times
JJC Timer Remote 002a.JPG
JJC Timer Remote 002a.JPG (85.92 KiB) Viewed 4167 times
JJC Timer Remote 004a.JPG
JJC Timer Remote 004a.JPG (78.03 KiB) Viewed 4167 times
JJC Timer Remote 006a.JPG
JJC Timer Remote 006a.JPG (74.25 KiB) Viewed 4167 times
JJC Timer Remote 008a.JPG
JJC Timer Remote 008a.JPG (81.16 KiB) Viewed 4167 times

The AAA batteries came with the unit and that was convenient to get things going for initial tests.

Daniel

Daniel Wee
Site Admin
Posts: 2052
Joined: Wed 25 Feb 25 2009 8:00 pm

Re: JJC Time-lapse Controller

Postby Daniel Wee » Wed 10 Feb 10 2010 2:12 pm

The operation of the unit is described in the instruction sheet that came with the unit. As there are quite a number of options, you actually need to read the manual before actually using the unit, to get an idea of how the timer behaves. Basically, you will have to set the timings using the 5-way selector switch, set the number of exposures (1-399 or unlimited), select the mode (Manual, Bulb or Interval), and hit the start button. The display counts down and the screen shows the shots remaining, if you have preset the number of exposures. Overall, the unit isn't hard to use.

A couple of concerns I do have, is that the LCD appears to be quite sensitive to pressure and while pressing the buttons, you can see distortions in the LCD. While this isn't a deal-breaker, it remains to be seen how this pans out over the long term. Similarly, the tactile feedback of the buttons/selector switches, isn't great. It requires fairly stiff pressure to register - probably due to the rubberized construction. This raises the question of the durability of the switches.

Another quirk is that the unit does not remember your settings, so that if you turn off the power to the unit, you will have to set everything all over again. It's a minor inconvenience but would have been nice if things were remembered.

Other than that - the plug goes nicely into the side of the Panasonic GF-1 and seems to work flawlessly (so far).

Daniel

Rris
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon 12 Oct 12 2009 9:17 pm

Re: JJC Time-lapse Controller

Postby Rris » Thu 02 Dec 02 2010 7:00 pm

have one of these for nikon 10 pin. It used to work, however now fails to trigger the camera. They are not very well made. I was just using it for remote shutter, since the D700 has a intervalometer built in.


Return to “Other Stuff”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest